Jason and Family

Jason George

Years in Triathlons: 4 Years

Employment: Since 2004, I have worked as a cardiac/telemetry Registered Nurse at Santa Barbara Cottage Hospital.

Family Life: I have a beautiful & Wonderful bride named Melody.  We have an adventurous, will try anything, 3 year old son named MD (Matthew Daniel). We are surrounded by our families locally except for my dad who lives in Thailand, & brother-n-law’s family in Washington.

My hero: Jesus Christ.  “Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, & the failing which easily ensnares us, & let us run with endurance the race that is set before us...” (Hebrews 12:1)  Jesus never gave in, never gave up, always endured, & finished the race with victory.

Athletic Background: Soccer, volleyball & ice/rollerblade hockey. Played NCAA College tennis.  .  Rock climber since 1994.  Backpacker/cross country skier.  Handbell ringer (Bass bells weight 10-12lbs) for 6 years touring Camp Pendleton Marine Base & Soledad, Tracy, & San Quinton State Prisons.

My favorite race & why:  I love race the Carpinteria Triathlon.  Well put together.  Love the local & family feel.  Beautiful course whether Sprint or Olympic distances.  It is fun & a great way to meet other people.

My worse race & why: The Admiral’s Cup Triathlon NBVC Point Mugu 2009.  The night before I stayed with Lt. Spencer & his wife on base, their beagle opened my duffle bag & pulled out all my food for the race (including Tupperware containers) & went out the doggy door & ate my food, leaving 1 GU gel behind with teeth marks.  Then in the race, my timing chip fell off during the bike leg.  Then a volunteered who stood in the middle of the run course, yelled at me to go left & not right which then put me at the finish line 1 lap too early.  Ran through the spectators & finished the last lap 20 seconds faster than the first.  What a race to remember!  By the way, the beagle had diarrhea for days. 

This year’s goals:  Compete in 5 triathlons (2 Olympic and 3 Sprint) & place well.  Finish under 26 minutes in the TT series put on by Echelon.

In 5 years I hope to train alongside my son as we both compete in triathlons together.  That would be so COOL!  Accomplish one ½ or full marathon or a Half Ironman.  Oh, have another kid & maybe a pet.

Something most people do not know about me:  Repelled with a climbing harness out of the ceiling of Trinity Baptist Church with a cowboy tux on with Mission Impossible music in my wedding.

 Jason’s Weddingjason-b.jpg